Citizens of the following countries do not need a
Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cyprus, Darussalam, Dominica, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Jamaica, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia (For less than 30 days stay), Maldives, Mauritius, Namibia, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa (For less than 30 days stay), Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
All the rest must obtain a visa. For most countries, online procedure (e-visa) is available.
For more details please consult:

Location permits are issued by the various regional and local government bodies. These usually take from 1-7 days to permit depending on the complexity of the shoot. More remote locations may require the producer / fixer to travel to the specific county to negotiate permission in person. There are very few set fees for locations so a good fixer / producer is essential. Shooting in the Nairobi business district or on city streets requires an additional permit. Shutting city streets requires at least 2 weeks to permit, inform the public and arrange police assistance. Additional clearances may be required by NEMA (Environment), CID (National Security) and other government agencies should you wish to film in sensitive zones and/or use explosives, fireworks, etc. Note, drone filming is not permitted in Kenya.

ATA Carnet not accepted.

The standard Kenyan VAT is 16%.

The Kenya Copyright Board (KECOBO) is calling on all musicians, innovators, developers, artists and creators of intellectual property (IP) to try out the automated online registration system.

Film Commissions


The Kenya Film Commission was established vide Legal Notice No. 10 of 2005. The Commission is a state corporation under the Ministry of Information and Communication.

+ Read more