European Economic Area

The European Economic Area (EEA) unites the 28 EU Member States and the three  EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) into an Internal Market governed by the same basic rules. The EEA Agreement is concerned principally with the four fundamental pillars of the Internal Market, “the four freedoms", i.e. freedom of movement of goods, persons, services and capital. But also “flanking policies” such as social policy, consumer protection, and environment policy may be covered. The EEA Agreement does not cover agriculture and fisheries.

Type | Transnational Organisations
Website |
List of countries | Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands (The), Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom