Co-production Treaty between
France & Germany

Project Type | Sign in to Olffi

Sign Date | Sign in to Olffi

In force | Sign in to Olffi

Activity | Sign in to Olffi

Min Participation | Sign in to Olffi

Versioning | Sign in to Olffi

Download treaty

Specific Conditions

  • Artistic and technical staff involved in the film must be nationals of either France or Germany, or nationals of one of the member states of the EU or a European Economic Area State. Exceptions may be made for workers of other nationalities if the CNC and the FFA jointly agree to such exceptions.
  • Studio shooting shall preferably take place in studios located within the territory of either one of the two states. Location shooting within the territory of a state that is not a member of the European Community and is not involved in the coproduction may be authorised where the script or action of the film so requires.
  • A general balance shall be maintained as regards both the artistic and technical contributions and the financial contributions.
  • To benefit from the provisions of this Agreement, coproduction films must be approved by the competent authorities of both parties no later than four months after their cinema release in France and/or in Germany.
  • A maximum of 8 projects over 2 years can be financial coproductions with a minimum participation between 10% and 20%
  • Coproduction with a non-participant country eligible if one or both participants have coproduction treaties signed with those non-participant countries or if the country is signatory of the European Convention on Cinematographic Coproduction

Other considerations

Modifications of the coproduction treaty signed on the 3 and 6 May 2016